June 28 is the draw for the European Rugby Championships

Total 16 views, 16 views today

The EPCR has confirmed the format and qualifiers for next season’s expanded Heineken Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup.

24 elite clubs will compete for the 2022-23 Heineken Champions Cup. There will be eight delegates from the United Rugby Championship (URC) – including the historic first appearance of Stormers, Bulls and Sharks. Eight clubs will take part in the premiere in Gallagher, England, and France will be in the top 14.

The clubs will be divided into two pools of 12 – Pool A and Pool B – and the tournament will be played over eight weekends with four rounds of matches at the pool stage.

The eight highest ranked clubs from each pool will qualify for the knockout stages. It consists of a round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals at the Aviva Stadium on 20 May 2023.

The draw for the Heineken Champions Cup Pool will take place on June 28. The clubs are divided into four tiers based on their rankings, following the same rules as last season. Clubs of the same league at the same level will not be drawn into the same pool.

Champions Cup draw

No. 1 and 2 ranked clubs in each league will be in 1st tier, 3rd and 4th ranked clubs will be in 2nd tier, 5th and 6th ranked clubs will be in 3rd and 7th and numbered clubs. The 8 ranking clubs will be Tier 4.

Tier 1 and Tier 4 clubs that have drawn in the same pool but are not in the same league will play each other at home and away during the pool season, as Tier 2 and Tier 3 clubs are drawn in the same pool but not in the same league.

Challenge Cup

Twenty clubs will play in the next season’s EPCR Challenge Cup with eight delegates from the United Rugby Championship, including the Johannesburg-based Lions making their historic first appearance in an EPCR competition, six from the top 14, five from the Premiership, as well as Bloomfontein.

The clubs will be divided into two pools of 10 – Pool A and Pool B – and the tournament will be played over eight weekends, including four round matches in the pool stage, in a similar format to the Heineken Champions Cup.

The six highest ranked clubs from each pool, as well as the 9th and 10th ranked clubs from each of the Heineken Champions Cup pools, will qualify for the 16 rounds, followed by the quarter-finals, semifinals and final on 19 May 2023 at Aviva Stadium.

The live-streamed draw for the EPCR Challenge Cup pool is scheduled to take place on Tuesday 28 June at the Aviva Stadium where clubs are divided into three levels based on their rankings and clubs in the same league cannot play against each other. Pool stage.

Challenge Cup draw

The No. 1 and No. 2 ranked clubs in each league will be in Tier 1 and the No. 3 and No. 4 ranked clubs in each league, as well as No. 5 and No. 6 ranked clubs from URC will be No. 2 in Dragons, Zebra Parma, Aviron Beyonc,, USAAP, Bath. Rugby and cheetahs will be in Tier 3

Tier 1 and Tier 3 clubs drawn in the same pool, but not in the same league, will play each other at home and away in four pool stage rounds.

Tier 2 clubs that have been drawn in the same pool but not in the same league will play each other’s home and away matches in the pool. To adhere to the same principle of same-league matches, Tier 2 clubs from the top 14 can only play against URC and similarly, Tier 2 clubs in the Premiership can only play against URC.

More details and timing of the draw for both the Heineken Champions Cup and the EPCR Challenge Cup Pool will be contacted shortly.

2022/23 Heineken Champions Cup Qualifier

Top 14: Castres Olympique, Montpellier Hérault Rugby, Union Bordeaux-Bègles, Stade Toulousain, 5 Stade Rochelais, 6 Racing 92, 7 ASM Clermont Auvergne, 8 Lyon
Premiereship of Gallagher: Leicester Tigers, Saracens, 3 Harlequins, 4 Northampton Saints, 5 Gloucester Rugby, 6 Sale Sharks, 7 Exeter Chiefs, 8 London Irish
United Rugby Championship: Stormers, Bulls, 3 Leinster Rugby, 4 Ulster Ragby, 5 Sharks, 6 Munster Ragby, 7 Edinburgh Rugby, 8 Ospreys.

2022/23 EPCR Challenge Cup Qualifier

United Rugby Championship: 1 Glasgow Warriors, 2 Scarlets, 3 Connacht Rugby, 4 Lions, 5 Benetton Rugby, 6 Cardiff Ragby, 7 Dragons, 8 Zebre Parma
Top 14: 1 RC Toulon, 2 Section Paloise, 3 Stade Français Paris, 4 CA Brive, 5 Aviron Bayonnais, 6 USAP
Premiereship of Gallagher: 1 Wasps, 2 Bristol Bears, 3 Worcester Warriors, 4 Newcastle Falcons, 5 Bath Rugby
Invited: Cheetah

2022/23 Original date
Round 1 – 9/10/11 December 2022
Round 2 – 16/17/18 December 2022
Round 3 – 13/14/15 January 2023
Round 4 – 20/21/22 January 2023
Round of 16 – 31 March / 1/2 April 2023
Quarter finals – 7/8/9 April 2023
Semi-final – 28/29/30 April 2023
EPCR Challenge Cup Final – Friday 19 May 2023; Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Heineken Champions Cup Final – Saturday 20 May 2023; Aviva Stadium, Dublin.

LiveScores is now available at IrishScores.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.