Irish showjumping squad named for the Aga Khan Trophy

Viewed 2 times total, viewed 2 times today

Irish Show Jumping team manager Michael Blake has announced his Aga Khan squad for Ireland’s Longines FEI Nations Cup at the Dublin Horse Show this month.

The Aga Khan, which will take place on Friday, 9 August 2022, will be Ireland’s fourth and final points-scoring round of the 2022 season in Europe Division 1.

The competition will be broadcast live on RTÉ Sport’s RDS as part of its coverage of the Dublin Horse Show, which runs from 17th to 21st August.

Irish squad members are as follows:

Bertram Allen of Wexford
Cian O’Connor of Meath
Downs Conor Sowell
Shane Sweetnam of Cork
Max Watchman of Tipperary

Irish Showjumping Team Manager Michael Blake said:

“We’re really looking forward to the Aga Khan, it’s always a very important and special Nations Cup for us, even more so this year as we’ve missed the Dublin Horse Show for the last two years due to Covid. Competing on home soil is always a great opportunity and I believe I have a very strong squad so I am very hopeful of a good result.”

After the Longines FEI Nations Cup in Ireland at the Dublin Horse Show, the top seven teams in the league table will qualify for the Nations Cup final in Barcelona.

The teams that finish eighth, ninth and tenth in the table will be relegated to the EEF series for 2023.

Five teams, (France, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland) will compete for Nations Cup points in Dublin. The United States and Brazil will also compete in Dublin but will not be eligible for points.

LiveScores are now available on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.