Irish Life Health National Athletics Championships

The National Track and Field Championships will be held this weekend. Credit: @athleticsireland.

Total 2 views, 1 view

Rashidat Adeleke (Talaghat AC), the golden daughter of Irish Athletics, returned to Irish soil this weekend while competing in the Irish Life Health National Track and Field Championship at Morton Stadium. Tallaght AC Athletes will compete in the 100m final on Sunday at 7.00pm, the event will be shown live on RTÉ.

Irish Olympians who competed in the Tokyo Olympics like Thomas Barr (400mH), Sarah Lavin (100mH), Lewis Shanahan (800m), Sarah Healy (UCD AC), Michelle Finn (3000mSC), Marcus Lawler (200m & 400m), Marx. English (800m), David Kenny (10,000m walk), Phil Healy (400m), Sophie Baker (400m), Christopher O’Donnell (400m) and Fionella McCormack (5000m) will compete this weekend.

Rivals from peers

The women’s 400m will see Ireland’s fastest women go to the start line. Phil Healy (Bandon AC), Sophie Baker (Rahene Shamrock AC), Charlene Maudsley (Newport AC), and Roisin Harrison (Emerald AC) from the Irish 4x400m teammates went through the heat at 7:45 a.m. before Saturday’s final. Healy and Baker will be neck-and-neck after a season best clock of 51.82 seconds, just 0.01 seconds faster than Baker’s recent PB.

2022 World Indoor Championship finalist and Olympian Sarah Lavin (Emerald AC) is set to make another incredible performance in the 100m hurdle at 3pm today after setting a new PB of 12.93 seconds while competing in Spain this past week.

Olympian Marcus Lawler (Cloneleaf Harriers) is ready to lead the men’s 200m event but will face off against Robert McDonnell (Galway City Harriers) and Mark Smith (Rahney Shamrock AC) in the starting line at 4.10pm on Saturday. .

In the mid-distance final, Nick Griggs (Mid Ulster AC) and Luke McCann (UCD AC) will compete in the 1500 meters.

5,000 titles for competitive men

Daragh McElhini (UCD AC), Paul Robinson (St. Caucasus AC), Hico Hasso Tonosa (DSD AC), Paul O’Donnell (DSD AC), Ephraim Gide (Cloneleaf Harris), Killan Kilrehill (Moy Valley Fagan AC), Metro St. Brigades AC and Emmet Jennings (DSD AC) will be competing for the men’s 5,000m final championship title.

Don’t miss an event at 1500m Olympian Sarah Healy (UCD AC). After winning her first 1500m senior title last year, she set Sonia O’Sullivan’s 1991 Irish U23 record this season at 4: 02.86 (4).M All the time).

Field events for the 150th edition of the championship will have a team aspect, where the best performances of the top 2 club athletes will be put together. The winners of the overall team will be awarded a special medal.

Action live on Youtube and RTÉ

Saturday’s action starts at 1.30pm, the competition starts at 1pm on Sunday.

Both days of the competition will be streamed on the Athletics Ireland YouTube channel.

RTÉ will cover the championship on Radio 1 throughout both days and RTÉ 1 live television coverage on Sunday evenings from 6.05-8.30pm.

LiveScores is now available at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.